African Affairs Department coordinates the activities of the Divisions whose mandates are related to issues concerning countries in West Africa, other African countries, ECOWAS and other organisations in the West African sub-region and the African Union. Consequently, under the Department, there are West Africa, North and Horn of Africa, East and Central Africa and Southern Africa Divisions.

North and Horn of Africa Division (NHAD)

The North and Horn of Africa Division (NHAD) deals with bilateral relations between Nigeria and the following twelve (12) countries in the region: Algeria, Egypt, Morocco, Mauritania, Libya, Tunisia, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Sudan, South Sudan and Somalia.

Southern Africa Division

The Southern African Affairs Division covers bilateral relations between Nigeria and the following Southern African Countries: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho and Madagascar.

Inter-Africa Affairs Division

Under Inter-Africa Affairs Division, there are African Union Unit and Africa Sub-regional Organisations (ASROD)

African Union Unit

The African Union is a Unit of Inter-African Affairs Division of the Ministry. The Unit is saddled with the responsibilities of coordination and preparation of Summits/Meetings documents for Nigeria’s participation at programmes of the African Union Assembly of Heads of States & Government and activities of the African Union Commission (AUC), its Specialised Agencies as well as AU Multilateral Cooperation.

The Unit is charged with the following duties:

  1. Peace and Security Issues;
  2. Political Affairs;
  • Infrastructure and Energy Matters;
  1. Social Affairs;
  2. Trade and Industry;
  3. Rural Economy and Agricultural Matters;
  • Human Resources, Science and Technology Matters;
  • Economic Affairs;
  1. Judicial, Human Rights and Legal Organs of the African Union;
  2. Regional Integration Matters (Agenda 2063);
  3. AU/African Diaspora Issues;
  • Multilateral Cooperation: Africa-South America Summit (ASA), Forum for China-Africa Co-operation Forum (FOCAC), Africa-India, Turkey-Africa, Africa-League of Arab States, Africa-EU Partnership, Iran-Africa, Fora-Japan (TICAD), Africa-United States and Nordic-African Foreign Ministers Conference.


Africa Sub-regional Organisations Division (ASROD)


East and Central African Division


ECOWAS and West Africa Division