Office of the Honourable Minister of State (OHMOS) assists the Honourable Minister in the formulation and implementation of policies in a manner that facilitates the realization of the mandate of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The OHMOS in conjunction with the Honourable Minister of Foreign Affairs has the mandate to oversee and strengthen bilateral and multilateral relations with African Countries, Joint Commissions and regional bodies including Maghreb Community of North Africa, East and Central African States and Southern African Development Community. The OHMOS relate extensively with the African Union (AU) and the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS). It specifically monitors and supervises economic integration in Africa, including trade and other commercial relations with African countries, in collaboration with the Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment; ECOWAS Trade Liberalization Scheme (ETLS) in collaboration with Federal Ministry of Finance, Nigeria Customs Service and other relevant MDAs.

The OHMOS also has under its purview, defence and security matters in Africa which incorporates matters of conflict prevention and resolution on the continent. The Office also relates with Nigerian Focal Point offices of New Partnership for African Development (NEPAD). In addition, the Office ensures promotion of development, trade and financial cooperation assistance to African countries and economic integration in Africa. In doing these, the OHMOS also partners with the office of the Vice President who is the chairman of Joint Commissions. It also oversees the following Agencies and Parastatals under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. They are:

  1. Technical Aid Corps (TAC);
  2. Directorate of Technical Cooperation in Africa (DTCA);
  • Pilgrim Commissions; and
  1. Institute of Peace & Conflict Resolution (IPCR).


Other principal activities of the OHMOS include:

  1. Cultural and other relations other than political and commercial matters with on-African countries (in consultation with relevant MDAs;
  2. Consular and Immigration Matters (in consultation with Minister of Interior);
  • Relations with countries of: Middle East, Eastern Europe, Asia & Pacific and the Americas (other than the USA & Canada);
  1. Boundary Commission;
  2. Joint Ministerial Commission of Nigeria-Sao Tome and Principe;
  3. Nigerian-Niger Joint Commission;
  • Nigeria-South Africa Bi-Annual Commission;
  • Nigeria-Cameroun Security Commission,
  1. Lake Chad Basin Commission;
  2. Gulf of Guinea Commission;
  3. International Contact Group;
  • African Union (AU);
  • Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS);
  • Maghreb Community of North Africa;
  1. East and Central African States (ECCAS);
  • Southern African Development Community; and
  • Co-Prosperity Zone (Nigeria Benin Republic, Togo and Ghana).